Purpose of This Blog

I realize this is missing on this site, and I’ve been putting it off until I siphon posts from Blogger (2 sites) & Xanga (purportedly shutting down) to explain who I am, and what exactly is habit forming.

In September of 2006 I began discernment. What does that mean, you ask. “Discern” means to discover or to seek out, and “ment” adds on the meaning of entering into an active seeking out of something. More correctly in the way that “discernment” is used is the seeking out of the vocation God gives to each of us at conception & fills us with graces to fulfill at baptism, and we grow in holiness as we age. In short, I have a vocational calling to be a “woman religious” the progressive sisters in polyester pant-suits would call it; God is calling me to enter religious life as either a nun or a sister.

That is why this site is called “Habit Forming”: I’m walking a narrow path that will eventually allow me to wear all the days of my life a religious habit and slowly be formed in the Potter’s hands.

Does it usually take 7 years to figure out what/where God is calling someone? No, but it takes a few years to pay off $50,000 of student debt from graduate school. I recently used my tax refund check to pay off an entire loan. In other words, I paid off $20,000 in 1.5 years. I would pay it off faster if I could, but I’m a social worker: I don’t make a lot of money. Which leads me to another point, I wanted to merge all my posts here from Blogger & Xanga to show the progression of my discernment, as I will eventually need a platform to seek donations. This blog, hopefully, will be that platform.

God Bless & Mary Keep

