quilt for kelly

Facebook Event: HERE

The quilting community is welcoming and supporting. Since joining a local one last September, I have received support and encouragement. Recently on FB an event has been created to provide an impoverished quilter with a new one for herself.

I have decided to learn to machine applique just for this. The first two were easily created:

20170806_205754[1].jpg

and

20170806_205806[1].jpg

However, I wanted to make a block with the recipient’s first initial “K”. First I sketched it during my morning at the office on a Post-It note. Then I drew it onto parchment paper.

20170808_200221[1].jpg

I do not have a light box so I improvised with the clear lid of my thread sorter and the LED lights that hang on the wall of my den (welcome to apartment living).

20170808_212119[1].jpg

I turned the parchment upside down and traced it onto my Heat n Bond Lite iron-on. I’m done for the evening after trimming out the pieces. Tomorrow I will iron the bits onto the fabric and then start ironing the pieces onto the background fabric.

 

Leave a Reply

